Bluehost Review


Bluehost.com Web Hosting $3.95

Disclosure: We receive compensation from the companies whose products we review in the form of referral fees. This page contains affiliate links and if you act upon our recommendation, we will receive a monetary compensation.

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Jeanne at Tip32 Jan 26, 2009, 7:40 pm

    I have been with LunarPages and Bluehost for last two years. While I like the Lunarpages, Bluehost offers more in their cPanel. Have recommended Bluehost int he past to friends and family. Good web host.

  • Irina Netchaev Nov 24, 2008, 12:53 pm

    I just started using BlueHost about a month ago. Did a lot of homework since I’ve signed up and here’s what I found:
    1. Tutorials can be better – not very easy to follow up.
    2. The one time I contacted CS via email, the response was quick.
    3. Great for smaller sites where tons of traffic is not expected.
    4. You do not want to have too many domains hosted on the same server – SEO issues.
    5. If your blog grows and traffic increases, bluehost takes down your site to accommodate others. This can last from 1 to 2 hours at a time. Buehost does not grow with your blog.
    6. CPanel – once you figure out how to use it – is spectacular!

  • abe Jun 12, 2008, 11:39 am

    I’m sorry to say Bluehost, you’re customer support is a liability. And you’re really going to continue losing accounts with such incapable staff.

    I just talked with Susan and not only was she incapable of communicating very well, which really damaged the ‘quality’ image about BlueHost i had in mind, she was also rude. So that said, Blue Host, you’ve really damaged your reputation in my mind, and I’ve been a customer with a few accounts for more than a few years now. Guess I might have to move to Dreamhost or somewhere else.

    If you can’t treat your customers right, you’re not doing the right thing.

    I can only sadly agree with Steve’s comment above, “I have stayed with them because they are supposed to be so good – but not because I have goodwill to them.”

  • STEVE TURNER May 30, 2008, 1:47 am

    I have been with BH a week and found the support for new, non-technical people very poor. Their basic initial tutorial is OK but it stop short of telling you how to publish and I found no continuation.

    Their Live Chat? I was on with Susan for an hour. She was medium patient with me, but kept thinking I should no more than I do.

    At a little past an hour she cut me off still stranded. And I think she put me on a “Don’t bother with this guy” list.

    When I went back on a few hours later, I got someone who was very formal (sir?) and unhelpful from the beginning. Kept telling me I had to learn to publish on my own.

    I have stayed with them because they are supposed to be so good – but not because I have goodwill to them.

  • Ned Carey May 18, 2008, 9:08 pm

    I use Blue Host and I am perfectly happy. Of course I am new to this stuff so I don’t have much to compare to.

    Despite the fact that I had no web experience when I started I have been able to produce a decent website via a wordpress blog. They Use C Panel which apparently is common for web hosting. I was able to figure out how to use many of the fearues of CPanel on my own and there are many others which I haven’t needed or learned yet.

    Part of CPanel is Fantasico which will automatically install stuff like wordpress or Joomla without any technical knowledge – that was a blessing for me.

    I rated the features a 9 because it looks like they have a lot of advanced stuff that I may want someday whey I understand it : )

    I rated the support a little lower because I had to search the net for some help. I wold have liked a better tutorial and explanations of what everything is.

    Overall as a newbie I am happy.

  • Brian W May 3, 2008, 3:55 pm

    For an entry level shared server, I’d say Bluehost has to be the best. I have been using them for 6 months and have had no issues. I have called tech support a few times just to ask some questions and all times the calls were answered quickly and the help I received was great. If you are just starting out on the web, Bluehost is great. Later on, as I add more sites and get more involved I will be moving to a dedicated server with each domain on its own IP<—- for SEO purposes. However, for now, Bluehost serves all my needs fine- Having Cpanel included alone is worth the $$.

  • Vlad Apr 24, 2008, 7:52 pm

    Since this blog is hosted by BlueHost I suppose I need to review it to set an example.

    I have been with BlueHost for 3+years and overall am quiet satisfied with the service they provide.

    The recent introduction of SimpleScripts makes very easy to keep up to date number of blogging and content management platforms.

    If I were to recommend this web host to anyone I would say a definite YES!

  • Scott Jangro May 14, 2007, 8:24 am

    We use bluehost for a few small sites. Questionable SEO, keeping them sequestered over there.

    The only complaint that I can recall is that they would require positive id to get shell access. Never heard of anyone doing that before.

    Otherwise, for the money, it’s a good service.

  • Gene Feb 1, 2007, 8:16 am

    Thumb up for Blue Host. I found this provider very reliable. From a technical point it is great have access to .htaccess file. Fantastico scripts and Blue Host are perfect “mariage”- easy to install such CMS as Joomla or if you are a blogger you can install your very own WordPress under 5 minutes.

  • Vlad Oct 6, 2006, 8:09 am

    For a long time I was looking for a good web host to host my Wordpres website. Blue host was a great find for me. It was easy to install WordPress using their Fantastico script through c-Panel. Their server uptime is excellent. I have been hosting for last six months and my site was not down a single time. Customer support is great. I prefer to contact them on the phone and never have to wait. When it comes to price, there are less expensive web hosting providers out there, but still it the value that Bluehost provides is excellent, you can host up to 6 domains in one account. I would highly recommend Bluehost to anyone.